SAISD Honors Teacher, Principals

September 19, 2005

One teacher award and nine campus awards were bestowed on deserving recipients at the school board meeting on September 12, 2005. Jamie Highsmith, Public Information Officer, conducted the recognition segment of the meeting.

Mrs. Highsmith recogized Parks Tucker, who was recently named Region XV Secondary Teacher of the Year. Mr. Tucker, Ag Science instructor at Lake View High School, is now in the competition for State Secondary Teacher of the Year. This is his 21st year as a teacher and his 13th year with SAISD. The district extends sincere congratulations to Mr. Tucker on this outstanding honor.

Pictured are Joann Walter, Director of Career and Technology Education; Jamie Highsmith, and Parks Tucker.

Another highlight of the evening was the presentation of the nine Texas Education Agency Recognized campuses. These campuses met the state criteria to be "Recognized," which is the third highest of four state rating designations, based on test scores from 2004-2005. SAISD congratulates the principals and all employees of these campuses for their teamwork and diligence in receiving such a notable honor.

Principals pictured from left to right are Elaine Stribling, Santa Rita; Connie Williams, McGill, Judy Bragg, Holiman;Sue Taylor, Goliad; Cheri Braden, Glenmore; Debbie Conn, Fannin; Steve Gill, Bowie; Cindy Lee, Bonham; andTia Again, Belaire.