SAISD Names Teachers of the Year

May 3, 2012

San Angelo ISD teachers were recognized May 2 for their outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching the children of San Angelo at the 2012 Teacher of the Year Ceremony.

Nominees from each campus were introduced and presented a framed certificate. Following the presentation of each campus honoree, the district Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year were announced. Robin Dehnel from the Central Freshman Campus was named Secondary Teacher of the Year and Gail Stillwell from Bowie Elementary was named Elementary Teacher of the Year.

The two district winners were each presented with a certificate and an engraved award provided by Concho Educators Federal Credit Union. SAISD would like to thank Credit Union President Jerry Merrill and Vice President/CFO Kathy Gonzales for their support of this event.

A panel of judges reviewed applicants nominated from each campus and chose the district winners. The winners were kept a secret until they were announced at the ceremony.

SAISD Campus Teachers of the Year include:

Alta Loma Elementary - Sheri Pruitt
Austin Elementary - Todd Nichols
Belaire Elementary - Carole Stevens
Bonham Elementary - Rebecca Steele
Bowie Elementary - Gail Stillwell
Bradford Elementary - Kimberly Smith
Crockett Elementary - Lou Ann Markell
Fannin Elementary - Bertha Carrasco
Fort Concho Elementary - Ilda Leyva
Glenmore Elementary - Deborah Boatright
Goliad Elementary - Kathy Jolliff
Holiman Elementary - Renee' Winn
Lamar Elementary - Amanda Keenum
McGill Elementary - Kay Hunt
Reagan Elementary - Penny Moore
San Jacinto Elementary - Laura Little
Santa Rita Elementary - D'Anne Watkins
Central High School - Valerie Jones
Central Freshman Campus - Robin Dehnel
Lake View High School - Cynthia Willey
Glenn Middle School - Covey Green
Lee Middle School - Amber Garza
Lincoln Middle School - Jordan Burrell
Carver Learning Center - Paula Plachno
Sam Houston - Leslie Beal

Congratulations to these outstanding teachers.