SAISD Teachers of the Year Honored

May 10, 2018

Twenty-five San Angelo ISD teachers were recognized May 9 for their outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching the children of San Angelo at the 2018 Teacher of the Year Ceremony.

Nominees from each campus were introduced and presented a framed certificate. Following the presentation of campus honorees, the district Secondary and Elementary Teachers of the Year were announced. Bonnie Smith from Carver Learning Center was named Secondary Teacher of the Year and Macy Smithson from Fort Concho Elementary was named Elementary Teacher of the Year.

The two district winners were each presented with a certificate and an engraved award provided by Concho Educators Federal Credit Union. SAISD would like to thank Credit Union President Jerry Merrill and Vice President/CFO Kathy Gonzales for their support of this event.

A panel of judges reviewed applicants nominated from each campus and chose the district winners. The winners were kept a secret until they were announced at the ceremony.

SAISD Campus Teachers of the Year include:

Jill Lovett, Alta Loma Elementary
Chelsea Smith, Austin Elementary
Megan Miser, Belaire Elementary
Bethany Schmickle, Bonham Elementary
Holly Hartsfield, Bowie Elementary
Devin Hagan, Bradford Elementary
Cathy Tanguma, Crockett Elementary
Lindsey Anderson, Fannin Elementary
Macy Smithson, Fort Concho Elementary
Victoria Guiterrez, Glenmore Elementary
Patrice Gibson, Goliad Elementary
Lisa Olivas-Chaumont, Holiman Elementary
Michelle Weber, Lamar Elementary
Taylor Gohlke, McGill Elementary
Kendra Cain, Reagan Elementary
Kalei Bailey, San Jacinto Elementary
Trish Meads, Santa Rita Elementary
Angela Pidgeon, Central High School
Sherrie Ventura, Central Freshman 
Georgia Edwards, Lake View High School
Blake Bien, Glenn Middle School
Susan Underwood, Lee Middle School
Amy Lewallen, Lincoln Middle School
Bonnie Smith, Carver Learing Center
William Lightfoot, Sam Houston

Congratulations to these outstanding teachers.