Main Menu

Explore More

District Menu

Parent Reminders Regarding Return to School from Winter Break

Parents/Guardians:

This is a friendly reminder about our SAISD protocols for returning to school after testing positive for COVID-19 or being a direct contact with an individual who tested positive for COVID-19. Please see below for a summary on our SAISD protocols for returning to school. For the full SAISD protocols please click on this link: https://www.saisd.org/district/covid19/criteria-to-return-to-campus

If your student(s) have been released by the Health Department, please email the release statement to the appropriate school nurse. Without appropriate documentation, your student will not be able to return to school on 1/5/2021.  

For Students with Positive Test Results:  

  • Each positive individual enrolled in SAISD must be released by the Health Department. You can apply for release from the Health Department for your student 10 days after symptoms started if they have been symptom free for 72 hours.   
  • Submit each release statement to your child's school nurse via email. If you are able to submit the release statement to your child's school nurse during the break you will receive a clearance email on 1/4/2021, once release from the Health Department is verified.   


For Students Who Are Direct Contacts To Positive COVID-19 Individuals: 

  • Each household member enrolled in SAISD and living with an individual who has tested positive for COVID-19 must also be released from the Health Department. You can apply for release for direct contacts 10 days after last exposure to the positive individual as long as the positive individual has been able to isolate away from other members of the household.  
  • If isolation was not possible the Health Department may extend the quarantine period.  
  • Submit each release statement to your child's school nurse via email. If you are able to submit the release statement to your child's school nurse during the break you will receive a clearance email on 1/4/2021, once release from the Health Department is verified.  

 
You can apply for release from the Health Department using this link, https://www.cosatx.us/departments-services/health-services/coronavirus-covid-19/covid-19-release-from-quarantine-isolation-form. Whether your student meets criteria for release is at the discretion of the Health Department.  

If your child participates in UIL Athletics a trainer/coordinator will contact you with further guidance as UIL requires an extra medical clearance for your child to return to play.   

The second semester begins on Tuesday, January 5, 2021 and your student can return to school on that day IF you receive a clearance email from their school nurse on 1/4/2021. Each student will need a Health Department release statement in their own name. Please remember to forward the Health Department release statement for each student to the appropriate school nurse.  

School Nurse Email: 
Central Main- Kristy.Torrez@saisd.org  
Central Oakes- Dolores.Canales@saisd.org   
Lake View- Cheryl.Walls@saisd.org  
Bonham- Cori.Stewart@saisd.org  
Glenn- Wendi.Polhemus@saisd.org  
Goliad- Catherine.Heimdale@saisd.org  
Reagan- Whitney.Ramirez@saisd.org and Britni.Hunt@saisd.org  
Glenmore- Dawn.Dusek@saisd.org  
Lincoln- Sean.Godfrey@saisd.org  
Holiman and Belaire- Brandy.Eisenbach@saisd.org and Tabitha.Mclerran@saisd.org  
Lamar- Cassi.Walden@saisd.org  
Alta Loma- Lisa.Stewart@saisd.org  
Lee- Ashley.Springer@saisd.org  
Pays- Monica.Porras@saisd.org  
Crockett- Monica.Porras@saisd.org and Crystal.Geurin@saisd.org  
Santa Rita- Ashley.Bates@saisd.org  
Ft. Concho- Monica.Porras@saisd.org  
Austin- Salina.Poindexter@saisd.org  
McGill and Bowie- Tiffany.Snowden@saisd.org  and Charlene.Sierra@saisd.org  
Bradford- Ginger.Hurst@saisd.org  

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to Monica Porras, Coordinator of Health Services, further at monica.porras@saisd.org